{Acceptable Alternative} Low Fat Cheese Reviews

cheese_lotsFriends, before I’ve discussed the importance of finding Acceptable Alternatives (AA) to make your life not miserable on the weight-loss journey.  I mean you have to eat so its important to find alternatives for the “not so good” that let you still have what you want in a healthier way.  That brings us to my AA topic for today…..CHEESE!

I love cheese.  I eat it cold, hot,  by itself, on things, in between things, etc.  I just love it.  But as most of us know, cheese isn’t always the most “diet” friendly food.  The bad news, cheese is often high in fat, calories and Weight Watchers points (for those counting).  But the good news is there are AA’s that can make eating one of my favorite snacks a lot healthier!  Below are just three of the many lighter options that I LOVE.

Laughing Cow Mozzarella, Sun-Dried Tomato and Basil Spreadable Cheese Wedge

wedges_light_mozzarella_sun-dried_tomato_basilThis savory spreadable cheese wedge is perfect on crackers, with vegetables or on bread for sandwiches.  The sun-dried tomato gives it a smoky Italian flavor.  My favorite way to eat it is on light crackers with grape tomatoes sliced on top.

WW Points Plus: 1-2

Mini Babybel Light

These fun red circles are filled with delicious cheese that is very tasty and filling and super easy to carry.  You can often find one in my purse on the weekends when I’m out at the mall and need something to stave off circling the food court.  My favorite way to eat these are usually by themselves.  But they are also great with fruit or as part of a “lightened up” antipasto display.

WW Points Plus: 1-2

Weight Watchers String Cheese

I’ve loved string cheese since I was kid.  There is something about stringing the string cheese that still gives me pleasure as an adult.  This string cheese is actually one of the best tasting light string cheeses on the market in my opinion and is another home run hit for the weight watchers food team.  My favorite way to eat it — the good old fashioned way!  I also love it with grape tomatoes with a little balsamic vinegar and olive oil, a lighteed up caprese salad.  I also love to cut it up and put it in my pasta and tomato sauce.

WW Points Plus: 1-2 pts

So, I’m curious, what’s your favorite cheese?

And the journey continues…..one piece of cheese at a time!

