What I’m Eating {Spaghetti & Meatballs}

I had a craving for Italian food today.  The easy thing to do was to go out to a restaurant to get it, but I can’t control how it’s cooked or what’s in it so I had no choice but to make it myself.  I adapted the following recipe from this one I found on Food Network.

I wanted breadsticks but since I couldn’t find a good alternative, I opted for a salad instead.  Not quite as fun as carbs, but oh well!  At first I was a little nervous to make my own meatballs and sauce so today I opted for the meatballs and stuck with jar spaghetti sauce.  Plus that’s one more thing that I didn’t have to put into my recipe builder today!

I listed the recipe as I did it with some initial alterations like switching from ground chuck to lean ground beef but next time I plan to play with substitutions to get my points plus value even lower.  I’ve also shown some photos of the process.  Why?  Not because they look amazing but because my friends think I don’t cook! 🙂

So was this meal a complete home run?  Not quite and here’s why.  In total my meal still came out to 15 PointsPlus.  I had saved up for it, so that wasn’t completely devastating, but what I know that I can make this better.  But in the spirit of the glass being half full, I did save myself plenty of point by making it at home and avoiding the baskets of breadsticks and alfredo to dunk them in if you know what I mean!

ITALIAN MEATBALLS

Prep Time: 15 Minutes

Cook Time: 35 Minutes

Total: 50 Minutes

Servings: 8 to 10

PointsPlus Value Per Serving: 7

Ingredients

  • 1 pound 93% / 7% lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup dried bread crumbs
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup 2% milk
  • 1/2 cup Grated Romano
  • 1/3 cup Grated Onion
  • 1/4 cup Finely Diced Fresh Garlic
  • 1/4 cup Finely Chopped Italian Parsley Leaves
  • 1/4 cup Finely Chopped Basil Leaves

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a baking sheet with olive oil cooking spray.
  2. Mix all ingredients thoroughly in large bowl. If mixture seems a little loose add more bread crumbs.
  3. Roll meatballs loosely about the size of a golf ball and place on baking sheet.
  4. Place into preheated oven for approximately 35 to 40 minutes.
  5. Simmer in your favorite sauce for 10-15 minutes.
  6. When complete, serve over your favorite whole wheat pasta and enjoy!

So, here are a few adjustments I will make next time:

  • Try egg whites or egg substitute and use half the amount
  • That should allow me to use a little less bread crumbs
  • I’m also going to try Italian seasoning as a short cut to chopped basil and parsley (because I’m lazy and hate to chop)

What is your favorite Italian meal and how do you lighten it up?

And the journey to ONEderland continues. . . .

