{Food Rewards} Are For Dogs Not People

So I let me explain how my brain sometimes works.

Weekly Goals:

  1. Workout 4 of 7 days
  2. Track food 6 days
  3. Lose 1-2 lbs

Reward: Order pizza, go for ice cream, splurge on fried chicken, etc

What’s wrong with that picture?  I’m rewarding myself with food.  NOT the smartest thing to do especially when you’re trying to lose weight.  It’s hard but I’m having to retrain myself of something I’ve been doing my entire life and I suspect I’m not the only person with this problem.

From the time I was little until today, I’ve been rewarded with food for doing good.  Some examples:

  • If I got good grades, we went out to eat.
  • If I answered something right in class, we got to pick a piece of candy.
  • If someone got a new job we went out to eat.
  • If it was someone’s birthday we went out to eat.
  • If someone broke up with their boyfriend, we went out to eat.
  • If someone got a date, we went out to eat.
  • And the list goes on. . . . .

This is of course the short list and I’m sure all of you can come up with a million other reasons to celebrate with eating.  So it’s only natural that I would try to reward good health habits with food, that’s what I’ve done my whole life.  But, I know that particular habit isn’t going to get me very far very fast.  So in an effort to plan more, my goal is to come up with a pre-determined list of rewards that I can easily pick from when I meet my fitness and health goals.  I haven’t made my entire list yet, but this week my reward for exercising a minimum of 3 days was a fun manicure!  I love manicures, but took this week to do something a little more fun than normal!

A good thing to help keep the whole “food as a reward” thing in perspective: Don’t reward yourself with food, you’re not a dog.  Kinda makes sense huh? What non-food treats do you use to celebrate milestones?

And the journey to ONEderland continues. . . . .

P.S. Colors of my manicure are Essie Midnight Cami and Essie Golden Nuggets!

