It’s All Greek to Me: {Chobani Yogurt} Review

The road to ONEderland is inevitably filled with new and different foods.  You won’t get there without it.  As you all know, I’m continually looking for an acceptable alternative to higher fat, unhealthy foods.  One swap that I made a long time ago was in my yogurt choices.  I don’t remember eating full fat yogurt the last 10 years, but I have always eaten low fat or non-fat yogurt.

Then my life changed.  A friend of mine was on a diet, who of us doesn’t have a friend or two on a diet, suggested that I try Greek yogurt.  Being the consummate dieter that I am, I tried it.  It had a strange taste (not like yogurt I was used to) but it wasn’t bad. 

Three years later, I’m still eating Greek yogurt and feel it’s been one of the most consistent healthy foods in my arsenal the last few years.  I’ve tried several brands and my favorite by far is Chobani.  Other brands just don’t taste as good to me.  I can eat it on it’s own or sometimes I sprinkle a little Special K Low Fat Granola in it to give it some crunch.  Health experts continually tout the benefits of Greek Yogurt which are:

  1. It’s loaded with protein
  2. It’s a great source of calcium
  3. It can satisfy your hunger any time of day
  4. If you’re looking for a probiotic, this is a great option

Interestingly, I can’t eat regular yogurt anymore because it’s too sweet.  My advice is give it a try and when you do eat the kind flavored with fruit or vanilla.  There are lots of flavors, so you should be able to find one that you like.  It definitely has a unique taste but give it a try!  If you’re counting points, its only 3 points on the Weight Watchers PointsPlus system.

Is this an acceptable alternative?  Absolutely!

And the journey to ONEderland continues. . . .

