{Boot Camp} Aftermath

It hurts to sit.  It hurts to walk. Hell, it hurts to laugh.

No, I didn’t have a freak accident – – I just went to boot camp two days in a row.  As I shared, I’m serious about trying to change my lifestyle and that involves working out more.  I finally found a boot camp with a trainer who comes highly recommended so I gave it a whirl.  I’m not a fan of waking up early on the weekend if I don’t have to but I can tell I’m changing because I went to bed Friday night with the intent of getting up Saturday morning.  I kept telling myself if I want to change I have to change.

As it turns out I’m glad I didn’t know how I would feel afterwards because I probably would’ve stayed home and slept.  Well, not really, but the thought did cross my mind today as I struggled to sit to go to the bathroom and walk up the stairs to my house.

We did a variety of cross training activities half of which I struggled through.  But I burned 587 calories in the hour on Saturday so it was worth it.  On Sunday, I struggled a lot more.  I’m not sure if it was too soon and I was too fatigued from the day before or maybe I didn’t eat the right thing, who knows.  All I know is that it seemed  a million times harder.

Here’s what I found out about myself after the class.

  1. I’m out of shape (this shouldn’t be a surprise)
  2. I clearly haven’t been “working out” even though I’ve been working out
  3. I never push myself as hard as I think I do when I’m alone
  4. I should never underestimate the power of a trainer or working out with a group
  5. I have a long way to go

After I went to the boot camp class, I found myself going through a variety of emotions, more on that in another post.

I’m no rookie at this so I know a little suffering is going to happen until my body gets used to working out again.  So I’m taking a little break to give my body a rest, but I’ll be back at it in a day or so!

And the journey to ONEderland continues. . .even if you’re a little sore.

