AM Workout – – Worth It or Not?

As I discussed previously, I’m working hard to be ready for my friends wedding, which is early summer (read here).  I’ve broken down and decided that if I have any kind of shot at getting ready I’m going to have to get a trainer.  I’m not thrilled about the extra cost, but then again I’m not thrilled about being fat for the wedding either.  So the show must go on.

I contacted a personal trainer who came highly recommended by many people in my area, including the fitness buffs, and waited to find out when he would be available.  I got a very nice message back saying that he was looking forward to meeting me and had a 5am time slot available.

I put eye drops in my eyes and checked what it said again, just to be sure.  My initial response: “Ummm. . . .Ok.” As if I didn’t have enough challenges getting to the gym, I can give you double the excuses that I would give you to getting there after work.  Chief among them:

  1. I’m not a morning person and I don’t sleep as it is already; why torture myself even more?
  2. What am I going to do about my hair? Yes – – that’s an important factor.
  3. And, this seriously flashed in my mind: Is this going to help?  Hey, I told you I can get extra creative when it’s early in the morning.

In any event, I did what I always do when I don’t know something. . . .I research it.  I found that while experts seem to be split on what time of day is best to work out, many suggest the morning because it’s a great way to start your day.  Additionally, many experts point out that you’re more likely to make it to the gym in the morning than any other time in the day.

So what am I going to do?  I think I’m going to figure it out and go in the morning because:

  1. I need the help and that’s when the trainer is available
  2. There is something great about checking off what you DON’T want to do early in the day
  3. The odds are I’ll actually make it to the gym if I go in the morning

What time do you work out?  If you work out early and you’re not a morning person, how do you get up?

And the journey to ONEderland continues. . . .apparently early in the morning.

