Seasonal Vegetables in ONEderland

As I’m focusing on staying on plan, I’m realizing very quickly that I need to make sure that I incorporate a variety of fruits and vegetables into my daily diet.  I’ve never been adverse to fruits and vegetables, I actually like them, but I admit that laziness and an unhealthy attraction to cheesy, salty or sweet foods has caused them to lack in my diet.  I certainly didn’t get to where I am today by stuffing myself full of vegetables.

But this a new day, a new me AND my chance to start over doing things right!  I’ve been specifically researching new vegetables to try because I think I’ll be able to integrate them more into my daily diet than fruit.  Also, many vegetables are on the Weight Watchers Power Foods List meaning I need to have them in my diet!  Here are some of my favorites so far:

  •  Spinach
  •  Squash
  • Zucchini
  • Corn
  • Green Beans
  • Broccoli
  • Potatoes (Sweet & Regular)
  • Cucumbers
  • Collard Greens
  • Salad
  • Sweet Peppers

And there are lots more but I admit; I have a good head start on my friends who genuinely want to incorporate vegetables but hate them!  In doing my research I came across this great seasonal vegetable chart on the Black Girls Run! Blog, which tells you when vegetables are at their peak.  Knowing when vegetables are at their peak could make for some fun, efficient and cost effective meal planning.

What are your favorite seasonal vegetables and recipes that complement them?

And the journey to ONEderland continues. . . .with lots more vegetables!

