Football = Love & Hate Relationship

If you ask anyone who knows me what my favorite sport is, they will tell you football.  I grew up watching football.  In my house, Thursday is NFL, Friday was HS football (when my brother played), Saturday is College Game Day and Sunday is NFL again.  Besides the actual game, game day also means football food!  That’s where that love hate relationship comes in.  I will tell you that my usual football fare doesn’t include carrots and celery.  I’m more of a wings and cheese covered food kind of girl.  It’s amazing the mindless eating that we can do when we’re not paying attention.

FAST FACT: Super Bowl is the second biggest day for food consumption after Thanksgiving in the United States….go figure!

Today I meant to go to the Super Bowl Party full.  How did it go?

EPIC FAIL.  Well not a complete fail…..trust me in years past I’ve done WAY more damage.  My day ended up being kind of crazy and I didn’t plan out my meals very well so of course I went for the junk.  In my defense though, I did throw some celery sticks on my plate and I didn’t eat everything I usually eat.  But as I go down this journey, I’m learning to take in a few lessons along the way.

Lessons Learned — These Will Be Applied To Next Season

– You have to plan ahead.  Failing to plan is planning to fail.  I know, I know….kinda corny, but its true.

– If you don’t know what’s going to be there, eat first or bring your own food.

– If you’re going to graze, graze smart.  My problem is I graze for 4 hours.  A better plan would have been to just eat and be done with it.  But if you can’t help yourself, plan to graze smart by adding veggies to each grazing session and eat smaller portions.

And the journey continues….

