Reality Check – Local 6 Get Fit Club

Most people who know me know that I love all things reality!  If I had to guess, I probably watch about 25-30 reality tv show over the course of a year.  Some people call it an obsession, I would rather refer to it as being up to date with pop culture.  I watch everything from the “traditional/mainstream” reality tv such as Amazing Race, Top Chef, Project Runway and The Bachelor.  Then I also watch the “originals” such as The Real World and Survivor and “pop culture” reality tv such as Jersey Shore, Bad Girls Club and Keeping Up with the Kardashians.  I of course cannot forget the “obscure” reality tv shows that many of you have never heard of such as Living with Ed and Wa$ted, both on Planet Green.  Side note folks, Planet Green has fabulous programming….you should definitely check it out.

By far, some of my favorites are of course the “weight loss” reality shows.  Among my favorites are The Biggest Loser, Ruby and Buff Brides.  If I’m completely honest, I have a love/hate relationship with them.  I am inspired by them but jealous that I can’t be there with them.  I suppose the idea is that you can take that energy and inspiration and channel it into your own weight loss journey.  Some days it works better than others.  Eh, what can I say!

Being the reality tv junkie that I am, I happened to hear about an online reality tv show hosted by my Local CBS affiliate WKMG-TV.  All of the episodes are featured online but sometimes clips are shown on tv.  The Local 6 Get Fit Club takes 32 viewers and gets them fit over 6 months.  The Central Florida YMCA provides the exercise guidance.  I normally just watch from the outside but I was feeling adventurous and decided to try.  In the famous words of someone smart “If you keep doing what you’ve been doing to your going to get what you’ve been getting.”  So….in 150 words or less I tried to describe why I should be picked!  There really wasn’t much else to the application other than that.  No picture, no video, no crazy song and dance required.  Well at least not yet!  Sometimes you need a little help and the older I get the more I’m realizing, sometimes you just have to ask for help when you need it.

According to the rules, finalists will be selected and notified around October 4th and then screenings will be around October 13th.  My fingers are crossed, prayers have been sent up and I’m hoping the Local 6 Get Fit Club judges panel will pick me!  I’ll keep everyone posted on the next steps if I’m one of the lucky ones to get a call.

And the journey continues….hopefully with the Local 6 Get Fit Club!

