Blazing New Walking Trails

Since I’m going to be doing the Disney Half Marathon in January 2011, I decided that I should break up my gym workouts and do a little training outside, maybe one or two days a week.  Since I didn’t have my car this weekend and couldn’t go to the gym, a story for another day, I decided to go for a walk.  I found this nifty website Map My Walk that lets me trace how long my walks are.  Map My Walk was really easy to use and it seems like it has lots of different tools.  At first it was a little weird trying to find my street and zooming in and out on the map, but it only took a minute or two to get the hang of it.  I’m sure somewhere on the website is a tutorial on how to use the site.  But you know my generation, we just get in there and start clicking and then look for directions after the fact.  Today I made a 2.42 mile route.  I did it in 36 minutes which is about a 15/16 minute mile.  Still not where I want to be, but I’m only a week into my training and the fact that I’m keeping it moving says a lot for me!  I think I’m going to try to make up 6 to 8 different trails that are 2 to 4 miles each so depending on the day and how much time I have, the weather, etc. I can do a different one.  Also, if I train outside 1 day a week having a few different routes will keep me from getting bored.

This week these are my goals:

– Workout 4 days a week at the gym and 1 day outside

– Lift weights 2 days this week.

– Get more rest so that I’ll have energy to work out 5 days this week.

– Plan my meals in advance making it easier to track every thing I eat this week.

Well, on the surface these seem like easy things but as we all know most things in life are easier said (written) than done.  But I’m up for the challenge!

And the journey continues…

