Couch to 5k – Week 1 Day 1

So last week, my friend Slinderella ran the Disney Princess Half Marathon.  There is something about race day that makes your mind do weird things, so in my excitement I committed to running in the Disney Half Marathon in January 2011.  Of course it wasn’t until after I said it that I realized I need to get moving on that goal like yesterday since I NEVER run!  So I searched online and found a few Couch to 5k programs.  I’m physically active and work out a few days a week but trust me cycling and running are two different things!  But I will say the bike riding has strengthened my heart which explains why today wasn’t miserable.

Today I had to do the following:

Warm-Up: 5-10 minutes

Walk: 6 minutes / Run: 1 minute — Repeat 3x

Cool-Down: 5-10 minutes

I’m actually doing a modified Couch to 5k program since I don’t really run at all and need to build a running base.  In doing research on line I found run/walk programs for people who already do a lot of walking and run/walk program for people who don’t do much walking.  I probably could have pushed to do the ones for people who do a lot of walking already but I don’t want to push my luck!

Check out these websites for info on training plans for new runners (I’m doing the first one).

If you don’t run at all and need to build a running base: http://running.about.com/od/getstartedwithrunning/ht/getstarted.htm

If you walk a lot try this one: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

And the journey continues….

