Let Your Haters Be Your Motivators

Sometimes it takes someone or a group of people telling you that you can’t do something to encourage you to get off your ass and do it.  That happened to me. I had a few friends laugh AND at the same time tell me I wouldn’t make it to the end of the week.  

People who haven’t struggled with their weight don’t realize that sometimes the process isn’t as easy as saying “I’m going to do it.”  If that were the case I wouldn’t be here talking about losing all of this weight.  There are a bunch of different factors that can cause the weight loss process to work and stick in your head.  Work Issues, Relationship Issues, Food Issues, Stress Issues, Money Issues….hell Car Issues can send me running for a piece of fried chicken.  Like most things in life one size DOESN’T fit all and it takes trial and error to get it right when you find a weight loss and weight maintenance program.

I’m hoping this time is the right time for me…I think it will be, I hope it will be.  Regardless; hearing someone blatantly say on Monday that you would be off of your diet by Thursday lit a fire under me.  Do I think they meant it maliciously? No.  But did it hurt? Yes. 

SIDE NOTE: when supporting someone trying to lose weight ,even when they fall off the wagon, encourage them to get back on.  Remember that this is an intensely personal issue and a “place” most people hate to be in.  You don’t know what they may be dealing with and a little encouragement (like salad dressing) goes a long way.  

Will it work this time? I hope so.  As my weight has gone up and down over the years, I have found that you have to keep looking for the little things to motivate you.  You can look to the big picture at the end but when you have a long way to go like me, it can be overwhelming.  So when I get frustrated and upset that I had a setback I look forward to reminding myself that “I wasn’t supposed to make it this far.”  The weight loss journey is a long road sometimes filled with detour after frustrating detour BUT in the end you end up in Wonderland or in my case “Onederland.”

And the journey continues…..

